2013年,海镁特有限公司与青海盐湖镁业有限公司(QSLM)签订了一系列的协议。根据这些协议的规定,海镁特将建造一个新的镁合金铸造生产车间,同时,青海盐湖镁业将每年为其提供5.6万吨的液态纯镁。

海镁特与青海盐湖镁业所签订的这些协议,包括镁合金铸造车间的运营协议、承购价格协议和租赁协议。这些协议描述并定义了两家公司间的运营关系,为海镁特提供了10+10年的租赁协议,同时,还为海镁特提供了在格尔木青海盐湖镁业厂房生产各种镁合金的独有权。

如上图,海镁特有限公司的董事局和管理层与青海盐湖镁业的高层管理人员于2013年举行协议签署仪式。

这些协议同时还确立了青海盐湖镁业和海镁特的财务关系。目前,青海盐湖镁业持有29%的海镁特有限公司的股份,并在海镁特有限公司的董事局中占有重要的一席之地。两家公司拥有着非常良好的合作关系,并在施工阶段已有了3年的合作。

青海盐湖镁业有限公司的电解镁冶炼厂坐落于中国青海省格尔木市。该冶炼厂的年产量可达10万吨,且其金属镁生产中的二氧化碳排放量为世界最低。厂房的能源供应均来自于当地的水利设施(75%)、太阳能设施(9%)、风力设施和当地的火力发电站。得益于北京国家政府和青海省政府的支持,青海盐湖镁业计划将原镁合金的年产量从目前的15万吨,扩展至将来的45万吨。

 

青海盐湖镁业有限公司,作为青海盐湖工业有限公司(QSLI)的子公司,是一家在深圳交易所上市的中国国有企业(000792:CH)。

青海盐湖工业有限公司的前身是青海盐湖钾肥有限公司,该公司于1958年在中国格尔木成立。公司成立之初,主要致力于化肥的生产和销售,其主要产品为氯化钾。在2010年整个年度中,公司生产了约231.6万吨氯化钾,其销量约为246万吨。公司产品主要销往中国的西南、东部、北部和东北地区。

公司的产品还包括联二脲、甲醇、聚氯乙烯(PVC)、氢氧化钾、碳酸钾、氯化镁、碳酸锂、尿素、液氨和其它化学产品。除此之外,公司业务还涉及了原煤业务、百货公司业务、酒店经营、监督运作、水泥制品的制造和销售。公司的销售主要针对中国本土市场。

 

60多年来,青海盐湖工业从察尔汗盐湖提取钾,而在这一操作过程中,会产生包含大量的金属镁和氯的残留物。中国政府根据评估估计,这些沉淀物包含约40亿吨的金属镁。在未来的几年中,青海盐湖镁业预计将通过在格尔木的生产场所积累额外的生产力,来提升其纯镁的产量。海镁特有限公司,作为青海盐湖镁业的紧密合作伙伴,预计将持续在该场所进行镁合金的生产。

下图为人工盐水蓄水池,青海盐湖工业从该蓄水池中提取钾,及其镁和氯生产运作所需的各种原料。

MENU

In 2013 Magontec Limited signed a series of agreements with the Qinghai Salt Lake Magnesium Co. Ltd (QSLM). These agreements committed Magontec to the construction of a new magnesium alloy cast house production facility and QSLM to the supply of 56,000 metric tonnes per annum of liquid pure magnesium

The agreements signed by Magontec and QSLM comprise a Magnesium Alloy Cast House Operating Agreement, an Off-Take Price Agreement and a Lease Agreement. These agreements describe and define the operating relationship between the two companies, provide Magontec Limited with a 10 + 10 year lease and the exclusive right to manufacture all types of magnesium alloy at QSLMs Golmud facility.

The Board and Management of Magontec Limited together with Executives from QSLM at the agreement signing ceremony in 2013 (above)

The financial relationship between QSLM and Magontec was also established in these agreements. QSLM is currently a 29% shareholder in Magontec Limited and has a seat on the Magontec Limited main board. The two companies enjoy a strong relationship and worked together for over three years during the construction phase.

The QSLM electrolytic magnesium smelter is located at Golmud in Qinghai Province PRC. The smelter has an output capacity of 100,000 metric tonnes per annum and produces the lowest CO2 embedded magnesium in the World. Energy for the complex is supplied from regional hydro facilities (75%), solar (9%) and wind as well as a local thermal power station. With support from the Qinghai Provincial Government and the national Government in Beijing, QSLM has plans to expand production of pure magnesium alloys from current levels to 150,000 mtpa in the near future and then to 450,000 mtpa.

QSLM is a subsidiary of Qinghai Salt Lake Industry Co Ltd (QSLI), a Chinese State Owned Enterprise that is listed on the Shenzen Stock Exchange (000792:CH).

Qinghai Salt Lake Industry Co., Ltd, formerly Qinghai Salt Lake Potash Co., Ltd., was founded in 1958 and is based in Golmud, China. It is principally engaged in manufacture and distribution of chemical fertilizers. The Company’s major product is potassium chloride. During the year ended December 31, 2010, the Company produced approximately 2.316 million metric tons of potassium chloride and distributed approximately 2.46 million metric tons of potassium chloride. The Company distributes its products primarily in Southwest, East, North and Northeast China.

Its products also include biurea, methanol, polyvinyl chloride (PVC), potassium hydroxide, potassium carbonate, magnesium chloride, lithium carbonate, urea, liquid ammonia and other chemical products. In addition, the Company is engaged in raw coal business, department store business, hotel operation, supervising operation, and manufacture and sales of cement products. The Company distributes its products primarily in domestic.

 

QSLI has been extracting potassium from the Chaerhan Salt Lake systems for over 60 years. The residue from this activity includes a high magnesium and chlorine containing deposit. Chinese Government estimates assess these deposits to contain around 4 bn metric tonnes of magnesium. Over the coming years QSLM is expected to grow its output of pure magnesium by building additional capacity at the Golmud site. Magontec Limited, as a close partner company, is expected to continue to operate as the magnesium alloy manufacturer at this site.

The man-made brine holding ponds (below) from which QSLI extracts potassium and the raw materials for its magnesium and chlorine manufacturing operations.

MENU